Healthy Living: mind, body, soul

A Letter to My Dog

Dear Zeus,

I still remember going to the ASPCA and seeing your sweet puppy eyes. In an instant I knew you were coming home with us. We had a bond like no other that seemed to form immediately as soon as we adopted you. 

Through the years Zeus, you taught me more than I think I ever taught you. You showed me life in only a way you could. Before you I was a worrrier and anxiety prone. Zeus, you had this way about you that instantly calmed me, grounded me and made my mind and heart slow down and simply be. You were always so stoic, patient, and loving and taught me the joy of being still. To simply just be in the moment, not worrying, not doing, not thinking. You pushed me beyond my comfort zone and helped me train for my first marathon. You showed me that true joy comes from getting excited over the little things. I will always remember how you greated me every time I walked in the door no matter if it had been 2 minutes or 2 weeks since you last saw me. I was your person and you were my baby. It’s been four months since one of the hardest nights of my life. I still look for you. I still wake up in the middle of the night trying to hear you breathe or stretch my toes out to feel your warmth at the end of the bed only to find your spot empty and cold. I still have to take a deep breath to ease the knot in my chest every time I unlock the deadbolt and open the door to where you once use to so excitedly greet me. I still cry every time I think of you and see your pictures. You were MY dog, my baby. God gave me you right when I needed you most and I am eternally grateful for the 9 years I spent with you, learning from you and loving you. I wish I could have kept you forever because while life is moving on and the pain isn’t as hard to deal with, life is not the same without you. You spoiled us as a puppy by being literally perfect from day one. You blessed us as an adult by being the most loyal, empathetic, steadfast dog ever. Matt jokes that you were the “Jesus of dogs” because you literally never did anything wrong your whole life and just came to love and teach us. You made us a family. You were the best listener and the best supporter. No other dog could ever come close to you but I sure hope one day my heart can love and receive that kind of love again.  There is so much I wish I could tell you and wish you were here to experience. I miss you more than words can say Zeus and love you so much…

In Zeus’ short 9 years he traveled from one coast of the U.S.A to the other 5 times. He lived in 5 different houses. He visited 17 different states (actual paws touched 17 states’ soil). He had the privilege of swimming in the Pacific and the Atlantic oceans, Lake Tahoe and a few other lakes and mud puddles in between. He had over 100 different tennis balls and squeaky toys in his lifetime. He had 7 different dog beds in the course of 9 years. He touched the hearts of literally everyone he met. We got each other through 2 deployments and countless TDYs. He protected me from a dog attack, a house burglar, and a rattlesnake. He comforted me through the many ups and downs of infertility. He loved us and we love him. We are eternally grateful that we got to be his “mom” and “dad” and learn, grow, love and live life with him the last 9 years. Though we feel he was taken from us too soon and I don’t know yet how to do this life without him…he had a great life that other dogs only dream about. 💕 I miss him more than words can say and I’m not sure the pain I feel will ever go away but I’m happy to know that he had a well lived and purpose filled life.

2 thoughts on “A Letter to My Dog

  1. This really touched my heart. I for one also miss my dog who passed away two years ago. He was a Chinese Sharpei :). They are now peacefully playing with each other in doggie heaven 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

