Healthy Living: mind, body, soul

2017 Reading Challenge

One of my New Year’s goals is to read more. So I decided to challenge myself to read at least 1 book a month. I made a list of all the books I want to read this year in advance and signed up for the Goodreads 2017 reading challenge. It is great because you get to set the total number of books for the challenge. So if you have more time or you are a faster reader you can pick a higher goal. If you don’t have that much time you can pick a lower goal. I love how it works for any type of reader! I set mine to 12 books, 1 for every month. To help hold me accountable, I’ve decided to start a Book Club here where I can review and give a synopsis of each book I read. I’m excited for this challenge as it helps with an even bigger goal for this year…bring a little more calm into the chaos. I’m hoping setting aside time to read will inspire me but also provide me with a time to simply slow down, calm my mind and be still. I want more of all that curling up with a good book, a cup of coffee and cozy blankets embodies. I want more calm and a little less crazy. I want more still and a little less busy. I want more simple and a little less cluttered. I want more cozy and a little less distant. I want more of less. Less stuff, less noise, less to dos, less mess, and less inauthenticity. Give me real multi vitamins for my soul kind of goodness.

So first book of the year is one I’ve been wanting to read for awhile. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. I actually bought it and started it last year but then life got crazy and it collected dust on my nightstand beneath other forgotten books. Raise your hand if you are guilty of book neglect too.  (Perhaps you are seeing why I need this challenge? )


Starting right now I promise to be a better book owner and reader this year. I know life will still throw curve balls and I’ll try and make excuses or get distracted from the challenge but that’s why they call it a challenge right? If it was easy it wouldn’t be a challenge! I invite you along with me on this literary journey. I love to read and it’s a hobby I’ve too long neglected. I’m anxious to explore new worlds, connect with new characters, learn from different cultures, faiths and walks of life, and have my heart forever changed by the stories to come. Won’t you come with me?

Leave a Reply

