Healthy Living: mind, body, soul

While I’m Waiting Goals

The best way for me to wait is to actively do something!

Earlier this week, I wrote a post about waiting and the downward spiral of my fitness level. When you are waiting on something you want more than anything and you have no idea how, when you will even get to that point, it often feels as if you are frozen, stuck in a hole, while everyone else’s lives keep moving. I decided the easiest way for me to wait is to actively do something, anything so I wouldn’t feel stuck in a hole.

d65b4a_43fd7b9430ca4607ab1586761a7fe281

I reevaluated my purpose while I’m waiting. I dedicated this time to work on me. Getting healthy again spiritually and physically. The past month has been slow moving but I think I’ve come up with a plan that I can stick to. To keep me accountable I will be documenting my progress here.

I have been using myfitnesspal to count my calories and try to stay under 1500 calories a day (eat more if I exercise). So far I have lost 10lbs only counting calories and eating healthier. This month I am starting Jillian Michaels’ Ripped in 30 dvd and I will update you on my thoughts and progress. I also registered for a half marathon in April so I will be training for that too.

My “While I’m Waiting” Goals:

1. Physically
– Get in the habit of working out in the morning
This has proven to be so hard to get back into the habit. I normally wake up around 6:30 and am out the door by 7:30. I know if I could just pull myself out of bed and JUST DO IT! it would be fine but it lately has been taking me a good hour just to feel awake. What better way to wake up your body than to work it out? So my goal is to try and wake up just 20 min earlier and instead of browsing facebook in bed to use that time to do a quick 20-25 minute workout. Once I can consistently do that then I’ll work on increasing my workout length. I will be doing Ripped in 30 first which is 25 minutes.

– Lose 15-20lbs to get back to my ideal healthy weight, feel better and have more energy
The healthiest I have ever been where I looked and felt the best I weighed around 128lbs and worked out daily, eating a lower carb diet. I had so much energy I did not need coffee! I currently drink about 3 cups a day. My goal is to get to this point again.

– Fit in to my bathing suit by next summer
I have the cutest bathing suit that I bought when I was in better shape that no longer fits. I refuse to buy another bathing suit! I will get healthy so that I can wear my bathing suit again.

– Be able to run consistently for 6+ miles again
I had worked up to running a marathon and my love for running kept me sane. Running truly is the best medicine physically, spiritually and emotionally. I love it! Right now however, I can only run consistently about 2.5 miles and that makes me feel so defeated. So my motivation to push myself has dwindled. I am going to find a running plan to help increase my mileage again and prepare for my April half marathon.

– Walk/run with dogs at least 3x a week
This goes with the previous goal but our poor pups lately very rarely get to run and get all their energy out which has resulted in some behavior issues. My goal is to exercise them more so that they do not have so much energy and they will be happier too.

2. Home
– Healthy meal plans
Create weekly healthy meal plans for both me and my husband. My husband recently discovered he has a gluten intolerance that causes him to break out in rash-like bumps whenever he eats gluten. So we are re-inventing our normal meals to be healthier and also gluten free.

– Create and keep up with home organization/cleaning schedule
Keeping up with the housework has been so hard for me lately. When I get home at 7pm the last thing I want to do is do laundry or clean. I always convince myself I’ll just do it on the weekend but then the weekend comes and I am equally, if not more tired and just want to relax and things simply don’t get done. My goal is to create a cleaning schedule where I only do a little bit each day that will help keep the house clean and not get so overwhelming.

– Work towards saving $ for infertility procedures/adoption
While we have no immediate plans for any more tests or treatments, we know that in the next few years we will be exploring more options and we would like to be able to have the funds to do so when the time comes. I will be revising our budget to be able to put away $50/month towards savings. I know it is not much but every little bit will count and that is what we can do right now with the income we have.

– Schedule time to do things I love like sewing, creating things for my home
This is one of the biggest things I miss doing with my current work schedule. I miss having the time to do home projects. My goal is to pick one pinterest project a month to work on.

3. Marriage
– Work on having more unplugged him-me time
Through the week we don’t really get that much time with each other and when we are home we often are doing our own thing on the computer, phones, or TV. We recently incorporated unplugged game nights and it has been so much fun! I want to find more ways to unplug from the world and plug into each other.

– Do something new or fun with each other at least twice a month (hiking, new experience like dancing or visiting a new restaurant, day trip somewhere)
There is still so much we have not done or seen in our new home that we would love to explore. We love finding new and fun things to do with each other and love trying out new hobbies too. Hiking is definitely on our list of things to do together once the weather gets warmer.

4. Faith
– Spend more time with God, reading and praying
Most of my prayer time is actually while driving to and from work sitting in traffic or in the middle of a chaotic day but I very rarely take the time to read my Bible or devotional anymore and would love to make that a priority again.

– Get involved with Church more
The biggest problem with moving somewhere you know no one is finding friends and getting plugged into the community. The only way I know how to do this is to get more involved in church. My goal is to find a way to get involved and serve and maybe we can meet friends that way.

– Start a prayer journal again
Sometimes I don’t know what to say but when I write it out, anything and everything seems to flow so much better. I enjoy looking back on these prayers later and seeing specifically how they were answered and God’s hand in everything.

These are my biggest goals and how I will work on me while we wait. Excited to see the transformation as I work on these. Thank you for joining me on this journey.

3 thoughts on “While I’m Waiting Goals

Leave a Reply

